Ask a Pro

edited January 2013 in The Toolbox
Because you demanded it! (Or asked politely about it.)  It's the return of the "Ask a Pro" thread, @Jay_Latimer!

Have a question that only someone with actual pro experience can answer properly?  You're in luck, because we have a bunch of those here, who've worked in many parts of the comics industry.  Remember: the only stupid question is the one you don't ask.  (Well... or "Where do you get your ideas?")

Comments

• Hey thanks! (I guess I'm obligated to ask a question now?) 

This query is for those of you who've been published by Image or one of the other Indy publishers. 

I have a new comic project roughed out, a tongue-in-cheek GGA super-heroine saga that is intended mostly to be funny, but with some pointed commentary on international relations / gender roles / etc. slipped in. I’m not an artist myself, but will have one of the artists I work with draw it. 

Some questions: 

I’d like to submit it to one of the indy comic publishing houses, but instead of just floating the concept I’d prefer to complete the whole first issue or two, which stand on their own anyway. Would I be better off submitting the first two completed books, or submitting just the script and concept drawings and a few finished art pages so the potential publishers have a chance to put in their 2 cents worth before everything is finalized? (I do have a portfolio of completed comics so they can see that I've done this before) 

What rating should I shoot for to get the biggest audience? I'm really not up to speed on current comics, but when I do go to a comic shop there's usually an "adult" area that has lots of dark-looking violent comics with sex scenes. I'd kinda hate to be relegated there. 

Any other suggestions on things I should do to tie things up before submitting the proposal? 

• edited January 2013
    First off, do the comic that you want to do.